Rat Rod Build Part 12 -The Roof Chop

Rat Rods Hot Rods & Drag Cars Forums LAZY’S RAT ROD BUILD Rat Rod Build Part 12 -The Roof Chop

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Lazy 3 years, 3 months ago.

Author Posts
Author Posts
August 16, 2015 at 4:02 pm #832

Lazy

The Roof Chop is the part of the build I was looking forward to the most,the main reason is I am not very good at body work, always seem to shy away from body mods.The roof is now chopped and doesn’t look bad at all, if I say so myself.

Building a Rat is, in my opinion, is the best way to try and master new skills. If you mess it up on the way it isn’t the end of the world, it’s a Rat, doesn’t have to be perfect. A welder-fabricator friend of mine gave me some good advise before I started the chop “Cut your way out,weld your way back in”

Well let’s get started, the first thing that I had to consider was how much to chop the roof, after spending many hours sitting on make shift seats in the cab 6″ seemed to be the magic number. I didn’t want a chop that may have looked cool, but was uncomfortable to drive, so a sensible chop was in order.

The first step was to cut off the front of the cab, removing the front doors, the rear doors became the front,and a bonus of now being suicide doors.

Cutting the front seemed to take forever, the bulk head was a night mare to get out. All the cutting was done with a disc cutter, didn’t have my plasma at the time

Body plan

• Chop 6″ of the height of the roof
  • Slice 10″ off the width of the Cab, this will allow the wheels to sit on the outside.
  • Move the cab forward
  • fit a bulk head and windscreen
  • Shorten the chassis and step it over the axle.